Who am I?

Well, there goes my plan of updating this at least once a week! Lol. I realized that I haven’t actually introduced myself, I just ran with the assumption that only people that know me will be the ones reading this. So, who am I?

I go by Lynn, which is legally my middle name, but growing up with an unusual first name was pretty torturous, so I made the change not too long ago to finally drop that and go by my preferred middle name. I’m 47 years old, will be 48 in April. I have 3 kids who are all off on their own; a son who is married and 29 years old, a daughter who is engaged and 23, and another daughter that is 21. My kids are my life, and if I do nothing else great for the rest of my life, I know that at least I raised 3 amazing kids. I was born and raised in West Michigan, and where I still call home. I have lived for the past 15 years in the Willamette Valley of Oregon.

What brought me to Oregon? The short answer is: I needed a change of scenery. I’m not going to go into the long answer here, but suffice to say, I needed a change. This area is amazingly beautiful, filled with old growth forests, snow-capped mountains, an ocean, a desert, and lots of winter-time rain. I really do love it here, although the endless cold rainy winters are wearing on me.

I was married in 1996, and my husband and I each brought a child into our marriage (he has a daughter, I have my son). We quickly had our 2 daughters together after that. Our marriage was, shall we say, rocky for the majority of it. We had our good times, but overall, I wouldn’t say it was a wonderful marriage. We separated in 2012, and divorced in 2014. I found myself quickly in another relationship, with a man I truly believed to be my soul mate. Neither of us are perfect, and we certainly had our issues and quirks, but at some deep level, our souls connected. That relationship lasted 5 years, and at the end, I was quite devastated and heartbroken. We still chat pretty much every single day in the nearly 2 years since, and we’ve seen each other a few times, but he moved to Ohio, and well, long-distance just doesn’t work. I still consider him my best friend. After him, I dated a few people. I started a new relationship in late June of 2019, and it went amazingly well for a few months. I’m not going to go into details, but in mid-October we had a difference in opinion/thoughts and it pretty much broke our relationship. We stayed together until late January, when I ended it. However, that only lasted about 2 weeks, and we have been seeing each other again. Neither of us really know what our relationship status is, so I guess I can say it’s complicated.

I have several hobbies that I enjoy doing, but rarely have time to do. I love to camp, ride my motorcycle, read, go hiking, explore nature, go kayaking, go to the coast, and TRAVEL… mostly outside stuff. Unfortunately, as I alluded to, I rarely have time to do any of that, between working as much as I do, and trying to get my house remodeled and purged. Plus, it’s winter right now, so cold and rainy most every day, not fun to be outside, for sure!

I work in IT, essentially a network administrator. I also have a few side jobs, one being a server at the VFW, and another a bartender at OSU sporting events. My IT job pays the bills, the side jobs pay for my home equity loan and my travel.

So that’s me in a nutshell. I’m pretty much an open book, if there is anything you would like to know, ask in the comments and I’ll do my best to answer.

Published by


Single, empty nester, living healthy, beating T2 diabetes!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s